I’m not a great writer.  I’m not even a good writer.  I know that.  I didn’t start doing this so I could show my literary prowess.  Just now I had to look up the word “prowess” to make sure that I was using it correctly.  See?  I’m just this girl.  Who likes to talk about herself. Because I can. 

My husband isn’t exactly Against the Blog.  But, he ain’t exactly For it either.  “Why does the world need another blog?” he asks.  “What if everyone had a blog?”  I told him I’d probably read them all.  I’m a voyeur that way.  Also, I’m narcissistic.

I don’t think he reads my blog.  That’s okay with me.  If he reads it, that’d also be okay.  I’m not doing it for him.  I do it for me.

I am pretty sure that women blog because we want people to know us.  And, we also like to know about other people.  This is a way for us to be able to accomplish both with out simultaneous conversation.  You know the kind?  Where someone is talking and in the middle of their sentence, you think of something you want to say which is, indeed, pertinent, but doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with what they are saying?  We don’t have to worry about that, here.  I’m not going to get offended if half way through reading my blog, you remember something you wanted to say.  You just say it.  Over at your blog, or mine.  Whatever.

Not that this should take the place of dialogue.  No, no.  Not at all.  I work.  I talk to people.  I have “real” friends.  I have Big Hands.  But I know all those people.  I know them know them.  I don’t know  you all.  But, I want to.  I want to know EVERYBODY.  I’m nosey like that.

I also don’t have any intentionn of ever saying anything of Real Value here.  What’s my opinion worth to you, anyway?  Nothing.  And, that also doesn’t bother me.  I don’t care about Influencing people.  I would like to make you laugh.  That would be great.  But, I’m not here for earth shattering revelations.

This is what it is.  That’s how I live my life.  Sometimes I wonder if that’s a cop out…but I really don’t think it is.  I am completely happy Letting It Be.

I was watching those four comics on Comedy Central the other day, and one of them said, and I’m paraphrasing here, If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.  And then find the person whose life made them vodka.

And, I thought, Man, ain’t that the truth.

